Talented Youth Sought for ‘Little Mermaid’

Audition Dates Begin April 8 at Pierson

This summer, Theatre Palisades Youth will present “Disney’s The Little Mermaid, Jr.”

Youth in third grade through ninth grade are invited to attend an upcoming audition and are asked to prepare a one-minute musical selection from Broadway or Disney and come dressed for dancing (no open-toed shoes).

Audition dates are Monday, April 8, and Friday, April 12 from 3:30 to 6:30 p.m. and on Saturday, April 13, from noon to 3:30 p.m. Callbacks will be held Saturday, May 4, from noon to 5 p.m. Both auditions will be held at Pierson Playhouse, 941 Temescal Canyon Road.

For those who are planning family vacations, rehearsals will be held 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday, July 8-19. Tech week will be Monday, July 22 through Thursday July 25 from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Performance dates are Friday, July 26 through Sunday, July 28 and from Thursday, August 1 through Sunday, August 4.

A mandatory parent/cast meeting will be held Friday, May 10 from 5 to 7 p.m.

“Little Mermaid” originated as a Hans Christian Andersen fairy tale about a young mermaid, Ariel, who longs to leave her ocean home. But first she must defy her father, King Triton, outwit the evil sea witch Ursula and convince Prince Eric that she’s the girl with the enchanting voice.

Lara Ganz is the Theatre Palisades Youth program director. Visit: Theatre Palisades.org.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *